PARTICIPANT_QOS_DEFAULT

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
PARTICIPANT_QOS_DEFAULT

Hello,

I am new to RTI Connext DDS and I am trying to understand the concept of PARTICIPANT_QOS_DEFAULT

. Does PARTICIPANT_QOS_DEFAULT "magically" search my application's directory for a file called USER_QOS_PROFILES.xml or do I need to set the path some where? By reading the following:

RTI Persistence Service loads its XML configuration from multiple locations. This section presents the various approaches, listed in load order.

The first three locations only contain QoS Profiles and are inherited from RTI Connext:

• $NDDSHOME/resource/qos_profiles_4.5x/xml/NDDS_QOS_PROFILES.xml
  • File specified in NDDS_QOS_PROFILES Environment Variable
  • <working directory>/USER_QOS_PROFILES.xml

that's my conclusion but I am not 100% sure. So if I mis-spelled USER_QOS_PROFILES.xml, it will not find it? What is the difference between NDDS_QOS_PROFILES and USER_QOS_PROFILES.xml besides the name of the file?

Thanks,

Allen

rip
rip's picture

Hi Allen,

There is an underlying, default "compiled in" QoS set.  This set is compiled into the nddscore library.

The compiled-in set is overlayed, starting with the NDDS_QOS_PROFILES.xml details.  While it is possible to edit NDDS_QOS_PROFILES.xml, I don't recommend it.  Reason 1: It's has a global effect and may induce side-effects because our tools don't expect it to be modified, and 2: unmodified, it can be used as a reference to see what the compiled-in QoS set is.

If you need global behavior on a given node, use the $NDDS_QOS_PROFILES environment variable to point to an XML configuration file (probably a USER_QOS_PROFILES.xml, but can be any name).  This is loaded over the top of the NDDS_QOS_PROFILES(Compiled-In).