Hello_simple won't communicate over network...

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello_simple won't communicate over network...

Windows 7 Enterprise, RTI Connext 5.0.0

Total noob here...Working with the RTI Connext examples and everything works great running on the same machine. However, when I run Hello_simple's Publisher app on one machine and the Subscriber app on another machine on the same network, I don't see anything received at the subscriber.

Any advice on what network settings to check, etc. would be greatly appreciated.

rip
rip's picture

Hiya,

run rtiddsping -publisher on one side, and rtiddsping -subscriber on the other.  If they don't see each other, then it isn't an RTI problem.  Probable culprit would be the Windows Firewall.  Disable that and rerun the test...

Thanks. Tried that and, sure enough, they don't see each other. Windows Firewall is disabled on both machines though.

Still making my way through the documentation, and I ran across the discussion of the NDDS_DISCOVERY_PEERS file. Is that file necessary for rtiddsping to function over the network? How about for Hello_simple?

Thanks.

rip
rip's picture

Next thing to check:  Are they on the same subnet?

Automatic simple discovery over UDPv4 works for Domain Participants that are on the same subnet.

1) Are they on the same subnet,

2) Is UDPv4 available to them,

3) Is UDPv4 multicast enabled, and

4) Are they on the same domain (if you don't supply a -domainId to rtiddsping, then they are using domain 0, so, yes).

If the above are all 'yes', then the simple discovery protocol should be finding them, assuming you havn't changed any of the QoS settings.

If they are still not finding each other, then ... are you sure the firewall is disabled? :) Run Wireshark on one machine, start rtiddsping on the other, and look for the discovery announcements (if Domain ID 0, then look for announcements to port 7400 on the 239.255.0.1 multicast address).

A little more info...

1 - yes

2 - yes

3 - yes