where can I find IDL file that is used in examples/connext_dds/c++/hello_simple ?

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
where can I find IDL file that is used in examples/connext_dds/c++/hello_simple ?

Hello:

I am new to RTI but somewhat familiar w/ DDS and middleware concepts. I have been able to download RTI and build and run the example under:

~/rti_workspace/5.2.0/examples/connext_dds/c++/hello_simple/objs/i86Linux3gcc4.8.2

My question is that from reading the Makefile.common I can NOT figure out which IDL file actually gets used in this example. In particular, I want to modify the IDL to send a double rather than a string. So, where in the example structure can I change the IDL and shoud a  make at "hello_simple/" level be able to find and recompile the IDL as needed and rebuild my example?

(Though not important I have noticed that "make -f make/Makefile.i86Linux3gcc4.8.2" relinks the app each time though nothing has changed; though this is a minor quibble.)

Gautam

Organization:
Gerardo Pardo's picture

Hello Gautam,

There is no IDL associated with the hello_simple example because it uses one of the Connext DDS built-in types.  These are already built into Connext DDS for conveneience so a developer does not need to generate any code to use them. You can find details on using the built-in String type here.  The IDL description of the builtin types can be found here.

If you want an example where you can start with an IDL and modify it from there, a better place to start would be ~/rti_workspace/5.2.0/examples/connext_dds/c++/hello_idl.

It is even better to just use the RTI Launcher, click on the "Utilities" tab, then select the "Code Generation" and this will guide you though the whole process, creating an example IDL file that you can edit and a simple makefile for the platform and language you select.

Regards,

Gerardo