Port Issues

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
Port Issues

I am using Qt Creator on Red Hat 6 and I am trying to pass data to the DDS publisher and I keep getting these errors:

[D1742312800|ENABLE]NDDS_Transport_UDPv4_Socket_bindWithIp:OS bind() failure, error 0: Success
[D1742312800|ENABLE]NDDS_Transport_UDPv4_Socket_bindWithIp:invalid port 1786510504
[D1742312800|ENABLE]DDS_DomainParticipant_enableI:Automatic participant index failed to initialize. PLEASE VERIFY CONSISTENT TRANSPORT / DISCOVERY CONFIGURATION.
DDSDomainParticipant_impl::createI:ERROR: Failed to auto-enable entity
DomainParticipantFactory_impl::create_participant():!create failure creating participant

I am new to DDS and I think there is an issue with the ports, but I am unsure. What do these errors mean? Can you point me in the right direction?

Gerardo Pardo's picture

These are very odd mesages. Specially the port 1786510504 number is not even a valid port...

To help troubleshoot. Can you run one of the pre-built DDS applications (e.g. rtiddsping or rtiddsspy)? Do you get similar errors? If so can you try running those same applications and passing a different values of theDDS domain id, e.g. 1, 10, 30, etc. For example rtiddsping -domain 10.  This will map to different port number and can help determine if it happens to be an issue related to specific port ranges.

Gerardo

I ran rtiddsping -domain 10  and then I ran the code again and I still got the same errors. This time the port was different, it was 975141096, which still isn't a valid port. 

Gerardo Pardo's picture

Did you mean you run your own code again after running rtiddsping -domain 10 and your code still gave you the error?

Or did you mean that rtiddsping -10  itself is also producing the NDDS_Transport_UDPv4_Socket_bindWithIp:OS bind error?

Apologies,  my question seems a bit silly but I just want to make sure I understood what you are saying...

Gerardo

I meant that my code still gave the error. I'm sorry that wasn't clear