Change in IDL Files on running application

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
Change in IDL Files on running application

Hey guys,

i am pretty new to the concept off dds.
And i wasn't able to find information on how you handle later changes on data types and idl files on a running application. Do you really have to recompile the application everytime? Or dou you use dll files or something?

Thanks for your information!

Best regards,

Max

rip
rip's picture

Hi Max,

Once a system is "live" you should not really see incremental changes of the IDL.  The IDL itself is only used during development stages, there is a compiler (rtiddsgen) that will take the IDL and generate from it the various source files that, when compiled, provide for instances of the data types, as well as the typed readers and writers (and marshaling, etc) for that type.

Because the data types are seen as fully qualified peers of the distributed system, an application should be very careful about changes to the IDL for the data types, because if you change the IDL, regenerate the source, compile it into the new application ... you will not be able to talk to any application that still uses the old IDL types*.

* [sidebar] I keep putting asterisks because there are different levels of truth here :)  If you are using "extensible types", a type can evolve over time, and applications will still be able to extract what information they can from the available data, based on the state of the data type when they were compiled.  This is a different discussion, and while extensible types are a thing, it is better, when starting out, to simply assume that the datatype is "fixed" and treat it as such.  When XTypes talk about "evolve over time" they are not talking about next week, or about 2.0 to 2.1.  More likely you are talking 1.0 to 2.0 to 4.0 to 8.0 -- years between iterations is more likely.

So, to answer your question: