LabVIEW Array Of Strings

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
LabVIEW Array Of Strings

I'm very new to DDS for LabVIEW (and in general). Am I right in saying that LabVIEW string arrays are not supported? Seems if I try to use one, all the Vi's that are generated are generated in an unexecutable state

Keywords:
sara's picture

Hi Liam,

As you can see in the Getting Started Guide of the LabVIEW toolkit[1]. There are some limitations in the types supported by the toolkit. Some of them, like the array of strings, are due to limitations in the API to access LabVIEW data from functions in C/C++. 
As of today, you would need to workaround the usage of array of strings, but we are working with NI to fix that limitation. A possible option would be to create a cluster that contains multiple strings. Or to use arrays of octets. I know it is not ideal.

Let us know if you have additional requests.
All the best,

Sara

[1] In LabVIEW, click Help --> RTI DDS Toolkit --> Open Getting Started Guide... (pdf) . You can also found it online: https://community.rti.com/static/documentation/connext-dds/5.3.0/doc/manuals/labview/RTI_DDS_Toolkit_GettingStarted.pdf

Are arrays of strings still a problem currently?

Ismael Mendez's picture

Hi Josh,

Arrays of strings aren't supported yet. As my colleague Sara said, we have some limitations in the types supported due to the API limitations. We are working on it. As an alternative, you can use an array of octets instead. 

Regards

Ismael

Arrays of clusters are not listed as supported, either.  Is this also something that is being worked on?  Do you have any suggested workarounds for these more complex array types?

Additionally, is there any limitation with the Toolkit specific to usage of optional members within IDL?  I didn't see anything mentioned in the Getting Started Guide, but just want to make sure.

Ismael Mendez's picture

Hi Ray