DataReader not receiving all samples

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
DataReader not receiving all samples

Hello,

I am new to RTI DDS and I am trying to understand the following behaviour which I've encountered in my program:

I hava a DataWriter that writes (using write_untyped) 5 messages on some specipic topic name (all messages are samples of the same instance). 

The DataWriter is being deleted by its publisher right after sending the messages.

I also have a DataReader that listens and reads messages on the same topic name. For some reason, my reader only recieves the first 2/3 samples and not the rest.

Howerver, if I wait a little bit before deleting the writer then my reader recieves all 5 messages.

I don't understand why isn't the reader getting all samples sent by the writer, and how does waiting between sending the last message and deleting the writer help in fixing that problem.

Any help would be appreciated!

Howard's picture

So, if the code is deleting the DataWriter right after it calls datawriter->write(), it's possible that the data hasn't yet been received by the datareader.  In the default configuration, DDS will definitely send it before the write() call returns, but it's not waiting for the DataReader to receive the data before letting you delete the DataWriter.

How fast are you sending the data (how long is your code waiting between sending each data sample)?  I would only expect the data loss to happen every now and then (it's a race condition) for only the last sample sent if you're waiting a few milliseconds between each data sample.

Also, if you're using default QOS, the default is BEST_EFFORT and a HISTORY setting of KEEP_LAST 1, which means that at any time the datawriter or datareader will only buffer 1 data sample, and the connection is not reliable.  When a datawriter is deleted, DDS will send a last data sample that doesn't have real value, but does let the Reader know that the Writer has been delete.