subcribe to all topic available using python API

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
subcribe to all topic available using python API

Hello, 

I'm pretty new to DDS and I want to build an application that requires subscribing to all the available topics. Do you have an example of how to do this? Or can you point me to the API functions and steps that may be helpful to receive all messages and be able to extract information from their data?

Thanks in advance.

Howard's picture

Hi,

What you've asked isn't actually very easy to do.  It's not a beginner...and requires the use of Builtin Discovery topics as well as the DynamicData API.  I would suggest you look for examples as well as read the manual to learn about Builtin Discovery topics first and then DynamicData second.  I don't know how much of the DynamicData API is supported in the Python API yet...you can check the docs to see if they exist in the current version of the Python API.  If not, you'll have to use a compiled language such as C++.  Or you can use Java.

Although, if you're very new to DDS, you probably wanna first start with some basic tutorials/helloworld examples. Which again you can find...there's GettingStartedGuide that you can use for a tutorial.  And tons of examples in the distribution as well as on community.rti.com.

--Howard

Hello Howard, thanks for the fast response. I have done some of the basic tutorials in python and c++, I will read the manual on these 2 sections (Builtin Discovery topics and DynamicData API). I let you know if I have further questions.

Hello again Howard,

Do you have examples for either C++ or Java showing something similar to what I'm trying to achieve?

Howard's picture

If you search "builtin topic" on the community.rt.com website, you'll find solutions, examples and HOWTOs that are related to what you want to do.  The other search terms I would suggest are "DynamicData" and "Dynamic Data", which also produce a set of relevant links to follow.