QNX 6.4.1 C++ link error

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
QNX 6.4.1 C++ link error

Hi. I'm just getting started with DDS. I wrote an application that uses DDS on Windows. It ran beautfully. Then I tried to build it for QNX 6.4.1. It compiles, but refuses to link. I end up with:

undefined reference to `DDSDomainParticipantFactory::get_instance()

I am statically linking with -lnddscppz, -lnddscz, and -lnddscorez and don't know what else to link in. It's got to be something simple I'm doing wrong, but I can't figure it out.

I watered it down to try to debug. Here is the remaining program:

#include <ndds/ndds_namespace_cpp.h>int main()
{
DDSDomainParticipantFactory * participant; // = DDSDomainParticipantFactory::get_instance();
return 0;
}

Everything up to the comment compiles and links. If I uncomment the get_instance(), I end up unable to find the singleton at link time. What am I doing wrong? This worked on Windows...

Yes, I beleive my NDDSHOME environment variable is set correctly. And I believe it if finding the link libraries. Here is the relevant portion of my setup:

NDDSHOME  C:\dev\LF\sw_3rdparty\ndds\ndds.5.0.0
INCLUDE   C:\dev\LF\sw_3rdparty\ndds\ndds.5.0.0\include\; C:\dev\LF\sw_3rdparty\ndds\ndds.5.0.0\include\ndds
LIBQNX    C:\dev\LF\sw_3rdparty\ndds\ndds.5.0.0\lib\i86QNX6.4.1qcc_gpp

Actual call to the compiler:

QCC -DRTI_QNX=1 -lang-c++ -I %INCLUDE% -I %INCLUDE%ndds -Wno-unused -fno-strict-aliasing -L%LIBQNX% -lnddscppz -lnddscz -lnddscorez -lm main.cpp -o main.out

Please help me. I can't spend much more time on this basic of a problem. :-)

Sincerely,

Karl

Gerardo Pardo's picture

Hello Karl,

There is something a bit odd with what you are doing. You are mixing the compilaton of a C++ file with the linking of the final executable.

Normally when you use the "-c" option you specify a C++ file as an input and an object (".o") file as an output and no libraries to link as in: