compiler error

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
compiler error

I am new to RTI/DDS.   I am using .Net.  I am able to download, build, and run the rticonnextdds-getting-started hello_world with Visual Studio 2022.   I have build some idl that has includes.  My rtiddsgen commands is this:

rtiddsgen -language c# -d generated -ppOption /nologo -ppOption /C -ppOption /E -ppOption /X -ppOption -C -ppPath "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio\2022\Professional\VC\Tools\MSVC\14.29.30133\bin\HostX64\x64\cl.exe" *.idl

The *.idl is just to indicate all my idl files.   They rtiddsgen without error.  I get all the cs and Plugin.cs files I expect.  I drop those into the hello_world project, but then get this compilation error.

C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio\2022\Professional\MSBuild\Current\Bin\Roslyn\Microsoft.CSharp.Core.targets(75,5): error MSB6006: "csc.exe" exited with code -2146232797.

Any thoughts?  Do I need to install an older version of Visual Studio to use the cl.exe. 

Organization:
Howard's picture

I assume that you are using Connext 6.1.1?  From where are you getting the Connext libs supporting .NET?  Which version of the .NET framework are you using?

And where did you get a C# "hello_world" project?  Did you create that manually?

Yes, 6.1.1.  Nuget.org:

<PackageReference Include="Rti.ConnextDds" Version="6.1.1" />
<PackageReference Include="Rti.ConnextDds.Extra" Version="6.1.1" />
<PackageReference Include="Rti.ConnextDds.Native" Version="6.1.1" />

I have tried net5.0 and net6.0 with the same results.

I got the hello world from a link in the get started from rti website.

https://github.com/rticommunity/rticonnextdds-getting-started

Howard's picture

The github repository doesn't have project files for Visual Studio.  So, how did you get the project files?

Did you run

rtiddsgen -language c# -example net5 -d csharp -ppDisable hello_world.idl