Spreadsheet Add-in for Microsoft Excel

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 1 month ago
Joined: 10/28/2010
Posts: 22
Spreadsheet Add-in for Microsoft Excel

Hi gays,

I would use Spreadsheet Add-in for Microsoft

Excel 2010 but the configuration menu did not 

appear in the Shape_example.xls.

 

did some one have any help about that, how to run the configuration

because the RTI config menu didn't appear on my file.

 

thanks

Gerardo Pardo's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 1 hour ago
Joined: 06/02/2010
Posts: 589

 

Hi,

 

Unfortunately Excel is pretty delicate when it comes to loading the Addins and that process can fail for several reasons so debuging this can be tricky...

The first question I would ask is regarding yoru installtion process. Did you execute the "RTIExcelAddin.msi" installer, or did you run the setup.exe directly?

You must run the "RTIExcelAddin.msi" not the setup.exe directly, because the MSI installs a compatibility kit that is required for the Excel Addin to run.

Assuming you run the MSI and the installation succeeds without errors, then check if you have a some message in the Excel status bar (at the bottom left of the excel window). This may show some error reported by the Addin like an expired license.

One last think you could try is to go to the Excel Addin menu and try to load the Addin manually and see if it reports any errors doign that

 

Gerardo

Offline
Last seen: 4 years 1 month ago
Joined: 10/28/2010
Posts: 22

I used "RTIExcelAddin.msi" installer and the installation process finished with succed.

The log file looks like this:

 

 

INFO  [13/01/2012 08:42:08] RTI Spreadsheet Add-in for Microsoft Excel 1.1.2 - Starting

INFO  [13/01/2012 08:42:08] Running with configuration:

DDSConfig::DomainId: 0

DDSConfig::PeerHost: 

DDSConfig::QosLibrary: ExcelQosLib

DDSConfig::QosProfile: DefaultProfile

DDSConfig::AutoStartDDS: no

DDSConfig::ThrottleInterval: 200

DDSConfig::AutoPublishTimer: 0

Logging::Verbosity: 3

Logging::OverwriteLogFile: yes

Logging::LogFile: C:\Users\hakiri\Documents\RTI\RTI Spreadsheet Add-in for Microsoft Excel 1.1.2\RTIExcelAddin.log

Logging::DynDataMaxSerialized: 4294967295

Filters: [ ]

INFO  [13/01/2012 08:42:08] RTI Spreadsheet Add-in for Microsoft Excel 1.1.2 loaded OK

INFO  [13/01/2012 08:42:08] RTI Add-in for Microsoft Excel startup succeeded

WARN  [13/01/2012 08:42:08] Couldn't read domain id from workbook

WARN  [13/01/2012 08:42:08] Couldn't read QoS profiles from workbook

WARN  [13/01/2012 08:42:08] Couldn't read peer hosts id from workbook

WARN  [13/01/2012 08:42:08] Couldn't read throttle interval from workbook

ERR   [13/01/2012 08:42:08] Exception reading configuration from Excel: 

   à Excel._Application.get_Range(Object Cell1, Object Cell2)

   à DDS2Excel.Subscription.Configuration.ReadConfigurationFromExcel(Application app)

WARN  [13/01/2012 08:42:09] Couldn't read domain id from workbook

WARN  [13/01/2012 08:42:09] Couldn't read QoS profiles from workbook

WARN  [13/01/2012 08:42:09] Couldn't read peer hosts id from workbook

WARN  [13/01/2012 08:42:09] Couldn't read throttle interval from workbook

ERR   [13/01/2012 08:42:09] Exception reading configuration from Excel: 

   à Excel._Application.get_Range(Object Cell1, Object Cell2)

   à DDS2Excel.Subscription.Configuration.ReadConfigurationFromExcel(Application app)

WARN  [13/01/2012 08:42:09] Couldn't read domain id from workbook

WARN  [13/01/2012 08:42:09] Couldn't read QoS profiles from workbook

WARN  [13/01/2012 08:42:09] Couldn't read peer hosts id from workbook

WARN  [13/01/2012 08:42:09] Couldn't read throttle interval from workbook

ERR   [13/01/2012 08:42:09] Exception reading configuration from Excel: 

   à Excel._Application.get_Range(Object Cell1, Object Cell2)

   à DDS2Excel.Subscription.Configuration.ReadConfigurationFromExcel(Application app)

WARN  [13/01/2012 08:42:15] Couldn't read domain id from workbook

WARN  [13/01/2012 08:42:15] Couldn't read QoS profiles from workbook

WARN  [13/01/2012 08:42:15] Couldn't read peer hosts id from workbook

WARN  [13/01/2012 08:42:15] Couldn't read throttle interval from workbook

ERR   [13/01/2012 08:42:15] Exception reading configuration from Excel: 

   à Excel._Application.get_Range(Object Cell1, Object Cell2)

   à DDS2Excel.Subscription.Configuration.ReadConfigurationFromExcel(Application app)

WARN  [13/01/2012 08:42:22] Couldn't read domain id from workbook

WARN  [13/01/2012 08:42:22] Couldn't read QoS profiles from workbook

WARN  [13/01/2012 08:42:22] Couldn't read peer hosts id from workbook

WARN  [13/01/2012 08:42:22] Couldn't read throttle interval from workbook

ERR   [13/01/2012 08:42:22] Exception reading configuration from Excel: 

   à Excel._Application.get_Range(Object Cell1, Object Cell2)

   à DDS2Excel.Subscription.Configuration.ReadConfigurationFromExcel(Application app)

INFO  [13/01/2012 08:42:32] Addin disconnected

 

Gerardo Pardo's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 1 hour ago
Joined: 06/02/2010
Posts: 589

What happens if you do not try to open a pre-existing Excel spreadsheet? That is if you just open excel from the file menu, and then create a brank document?  Do you then see the DDS Add-in menus appear? Do you get the option to join a DDS domain etc.?

Offline
Last seen: 4 years 1 month ago
Joined: 10/28/2010
Posts: 22

I have the following sceen appearing when I open Excel

but nothing works.

excel sceen

Offline
Last seen: 4 years 1 month ago
Joined: 10/28/2010
Posts: 22

Hi,

 

Any Help regarding this topics is very welcome !! 

Do you think that it will work with specific version of Excel, and if so which version we have to use !!

 

 

thanks

rose's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 weeks 1 day ago
Joined: 08/22/2011
Posts: 146

Hello Hakiri,

 

I think the next step is to look at the log file that is created by the Excel plug-in to see if it shows an error (if not, this will be very difficult to solve).

 

That file is located slightly different locations depending on the version, but the path is something like this:

My Documents/RTI/RTI Spreadsheet.../RTIExcelAddin.log

 

If you post the contents of that file, it might help find the problem.

 

Thank you,

Rose

Gerardo Pardo's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 1 hour ago
Joined: 06/02/2010
Posts: 589

 

Hello Hakiri,

 

Did you try clicking on the "Affichage" tab? It should show you the list of Add-ins. Does the "RTI Add-in for Microsoft Excel" appear there? If so is it enabled (checked)?

 

Gerardo

Offline
Last seen: 4 years 1 month ago
Joined: 10/28/2010
Posts: 22

The "RTI Add-in for Microsoft Excel" does not appear in any tab. My be it works with a specific version of Excel that I don't know which is, as I tried Excel 2007 and 2010. 

 

thanks 

Akram

Offline
Last seen: 5 months 3 days ago
Joined: 01/27/2014
Posts: 8

Hello,

I got the same issue, with Excel 2010 : plugin initialization Ok but no toolbar

Boris

sara's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 3 days ago
Joined: 01/16/2013
Posts: 122

Hi guys,

There's another forum thread similar to this one where this issue has been answered. Please check Rose response here:

http://community.rti.com/forum-topic/excel-toolbar

Thanks,

Sara

Offline
Last seen: 1 month 2 weeks ago
Joined: 01/15/2013
Posts: 88

Hello,

There is a problem in Microsoft with localised versions of Excel and COM Add-ins.

  • An En-US version of Excel on a En-US machine should work fine, and if there is an error, it would be happening for a different reason.
  • If your Excel version is a non En-US version, you can try to set your Microsoft Region's Format options to "English (United States)". Then try reloading Excel and see if the complement is showing.
  • If you installed an En-US version of Excel in a non En-US machine, you may have to install a Microsoft Language Pack for your region in order to make it work.

I hope this helps, let me know if there are still problems.

Juanlu