Cryptography in DDS

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Cryptography in DDS

Good Morning,

I am having a course project this semester for the title "cryptography in DDS". I have a good knowladge of the cryptography system, however, I can't figure out how to proceed with DDS. By the way I am new to DDS and anyother real-time middleware architecture. I would like to implement my project using java. Please give me indications so that I can narrow my focus and contribute a vital work. (what to read and how to proceed throughout the implementation).

Regards,

Gerardo Pardo's picture

Hi,

Currently the DDS specification does not specify any means to perform encryption or any cryprographic operation.  From what I know the only solution offerered by DDS vendors is based on transport-level standards, such as TLS or DTLS which perform the encryption on the TCP/UDP connection itself. But I doubt this is what you want.

That said there is an on-going effort at the Object Management Group to create a standard for "Secure DDS". This will provide a plugin architecture that would allow differnt approaches to cryptography (as well as Authentication and Access Control) to be "plugged in". In addition the standard does provide builtin Cryptographic support for things like AES-256 and the means to do secure key distribution and secure multicast.

If you are interested in this I have posted some presentations on this work-in-progress on my slideshare page:  http://www.slideshare.net/GerardoPardo but there has been an update just this week which I have not posted yet. I will upload it and post a follow up message here.

Gerardo

Very thankful, but the encryption I am thinking would be at the application layer level not at transport layer level (as you mentioned). I will leave you a comment soon after few more litrature survey.

Regards

Dear Gerardo,