Sending an image over Connext

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Sending an image over Connext

With G-d's assistance

How could I send an image over Connext middleware?

(I'm new in RTI, aswell as being new to dealing with images in code)

Thanks!

Organization:

Hi,

An image is just like any other type, and for using it with Connext, you'll have to define a type according to your format/encoding. With RTI Connext, you can define your types in IDL, a programming language-independent type-definition language.

Why don't you take a look at this RTI video use-case? You can download it for both Linux and Windows, and browse the code, play with it, and learn.

I hope this helps shed some light.

Thanks,

Juanlu

Side note: I pointed you to this example as dealing with video is like dealing with sending images every certain period of time.

Thanks!

I actually did get a look at that use-case previously,

though it's quite complicated for me to fathom.

I need a very simple template-like example of an idl-made type for generating the code,

and then a c++ example of how to read binarily from an image file and sending-off the data that was read via the type which was defined for this purpose.

Hi Oriel,

So, how I would proceed (I'm going to asume a raw image type, no compression) is this way. The examples below are not tested, I'm writing them as I go, just ideas on how to do what you want.

Usually you wouldn't work without compression. I think there are many image processing libraries, like Boost's GIL libraries, but there are others.

1) Create an IDL representation of the type, something like

struct RGB {
    octet r;
    octet g;
    octet b;
};

const short SIZE_HORIZONTAL = ...;
const short SIZE_VERTICAL = ...;

struct Image {
    RGB matrix[SIZE_HORIZONTAL][SIZE_VERTICAL];
};