Subscribing to topics with a wildcard

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
Subscribing to topics with a wildcard

Hi.  I have a distributed network all running different instances of a piece of software.  Our current structure has a single IDL Type defined, however we break up different uses of that type via different topics.  Our topics are defined in a package style format with a number system  So for one type we could have several topics that look like so

appType.subsystem.control

All of those have the same appType and subsystem with control being the unique identifier of the topic.  But the IDL type is the same regardless of if its 1.1.2 or 3.2.4

I have a requirement to subscribe with wildcards, where the app could be configured to subscribe to 1.1.* and not know that 1,2, or 3 exist exclusively.  What is the best way to do this?  I see something about multi-topics in your documentation but that its not supported and there are not any examples.  I was thinking I could poll as well and get a listing of topics the DP has found with find_topic() but it says i cant look up topic data for remote topics which I believe is how I would figure out what the topic name is.  I am not keen on polling either, and i dont see a good listener to attach that lookup to like domain_livelyness or something.  Any suggestions?  

Organization:

I should mention I am using RTI connext 5.1.0 currently as well.  

rip
rip's picture

Partition QoS

Supports wildcards (Posix FNMATCH to be exact).  Single topic, multiple partitions on it.  And you can change it at runtime to change what you are looking at.

I am familiar with the Partition QOS and was planning to use that to implement filters to solve another requirement I have for location filters.  Partition QoS would work great if I could change the rules so that it required more than 1 match to join.