Receiving DDS messages in Java

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
Receiving DDS messages in Java

I am new to DDS, and have a task to integrate a Java application with a C++ application that runs on a different PC and has already written that uses DDS. We have a license for the C++ application. I have several questions about this:

1. Is it possible to receive DDS messages in the Java application over a plain socket and parse them?
  2. Do I need an RTI license on the machine running the Java application?
  3. If the C++ application is publishing messages are they automatically serialized, or does that need to be added to the C++ application?
  4. Is there a specific port that I need to listen to with a UDP server?

In the resources I have found it doesn't seem like anyone has done anything specifically like this, so any help you can give me would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Keywords:

Hey,

RTI uses the RTPS wire protocol which by default is using the UDP transport protocol.

You could, with the right amount of effort, write the necessary code to communicate with an RTI-based application using a plain udp socket.

That is not recommended, though :)

I'll leave the licensing questions to RTI.

If you are using the RTI to publish messages (using writer.write, for example) then yes, RTI will serialize the data.

RTI uses the term "domain" to describe a "world" within which applications can communicate on different topics.

When the c++ application publishes messages it does so on a writer that is identified with some topic, and belongs to some domain (represented by the domain participant which created it).

By default, a domain maps to a range of ports used to communicate on that domain.