Q: Use struct or not ?

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
frgo's picture
Q: Use struct or not ?

Hi all:

I am new to DDS and I am currently designing an IDL for exchanging messages between applications. For defining complex data there is now the question of using structs or not, as shown here:

// PIB Network Participant

struct participant_t
{
string<36> id; //@key
unsigned long rtps_host_id;
unsigned long rtps_app_id;
unsigned long rtps_instance_id;
string application;
string hostname;
long process_id;
long thread_id;
};

// PIB Message Structure: Header

struct msg_header_t
{
string<36> id; //@key
participant_t sender;
participant_t receiver;
};

The second struct could also be written as:

struct msg_header_t
{
string<36> msg_id;

// Sender

string<36> sender_id; //@key
unsigned long sender_rtps_host_id;
unsigned long sender_rtps_app_id;
unsigned long sender_rtps_instance_id;
string sender_application;
string sender_hostname;
long sender_process_id;
long sender_thread_id;

// Receiver

string<36> receiver_id; //@key
unsigned long receiver_rtps_host_id;
unsigned long receiver_rtps_app_id;
unsigned long receiver_rtps_instance_id;
string receiver_application;
string receiver_hostname;
long receiver_process_id;
long receiver_thread_id;
};

I am targeting very fast (real time) message exchange, round trip time < 5 ms. The generated code will be C language based - and is quite less complex in the second approach. I have not yet used the RTI apps like RTI Monitor etc.

Is there any clear way of saying which one will be "faster" and which one will be "better to maintain, better to implement"? I know it's difficult to give any clear statement based on that little info I can give... I guess it boils down to "How would you do it ? Why?"

Thanks for sharing thoughts!

Best regards

Frank

Gerardo Pardo's picture

Hello Frank,