Confused by binary format of data in rtirecord output file

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Confused by binary format of data in rtirecord output file

Hi all,

I have a test scenario where I sent some DDS data from an application and recorded it with the rtirecord application version 5.3.0 on 64 bit linux.  

Now, on a Windows PC, I'm trying to analyze the data in the output file from rtirecord to check the contents of the DDS messages that I sent.  I'd like to put the data into MATLAB to plot some features. 

I need a little help understanding what the data format is like under the hood when I pull it out of the database, or an alternative way of getting the data into matlab.

I'm not a database expert, and I'm only lightly familiar with python.  I don't have a database server installed. 

I have python 3.6.  Importing sqlite3, I was able to get the python sql layer to connect to the database, and I was able to examine the rows of data.  I focused on the column 'rti_serialized_sample', as this is where the data was serialized as a bytestream.  I tried pulling this into python variables by parsing the binary data.

I have sequences (with maximum lengths) in my data, as well as other longs and 'long long's scattered among them.

If I pull the binary data out and stare at it for a while, I can see a few features about the data:

• a sequence has an integer at the beginning, containing the length. 
  • There are also four bytes at the beginning that are not part of my payload, and therefore must be something RTI has put there.
  • 'long's and 'long long's both seem to be saved as 8 bytes (which is not expected).

My point is that since I'm guessing all of this stuff, I must be missing something... either a document showing support for these formats, or a different workflow for extracting data from the database file that is supported.