Is There a Benchmarking Tool That Tests the Performance of Multiple DDS Products As Well As RTI

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
Is There a Benchmarking Tool That Tests the Performance of Multiple DDS Products As Well As RTI

Hi there,

I am a current PhD student working on "Experimental and Model-based Evaluation of DDS Performance and Security". As part of my research I am looking for a benchmarking tool that would allow me to performance test multiple DDS products such as Vortex OpenSplice and OpenDDS. I have experience performance testing using RTI's PerfTest application and would like to compare the results with other DDS products.

So far, I have found various other benchmarking tools that seem outdated or unsupported such as DDS Benchmark Environment, Open Architecture Benchmark and DDSBench. If there are no available benchmarking tools then I may have to create one. Does anyone have any advice on searching for or creating a benchmarking tool able to evaluate the performance of multiple DDS products?

Thank you for taking the time to read through this post and wish you a great day!

Thanks,

Kaleem Peeroo

Howard's picture

Hi Kaleem,

So, first I will say that it's very difficult to create a performance test that actually measure what you're looking to measure correctly and accurately.  There are a variety of variables that depend on the use case not limited to size of data, data structure complexity or simplicity, CPU and network speeds, rate at which data is being sent, number of subscribers for Topic, number of topics, number of threads sending/number of threads processing received data, sending on the same host, same network, across subnets, across NATs and firewalls.

Fundamentally, in our experience we have not found a huge difference in perfomance for the most basic tests, e.g, 1 publisher to 1 subscriber with a single Topic and simple data structure.  It's not like one DDS is 10x or even 2x better in latency/throughput.  You're talking 10% to 30% maybe.